The Parkland Surgical Society exists to stimulate and advance the science and art of surgery, binding together all recipients of the extraordinary experience provided by Parkland Memorial Hospital in a spirit of camaraderie, continuing friendship and intellectual exchange and supporting the surgical residency program at Parkland Memorial Hospital.


A reunion was held in 1977 that generated interest in holding future meetings of Parkland surgical residents.

In 1982, a self-appointed committee consisting of Drs. Royce Laycock (1961), Dale Coln (1967), Erwin Thal (1969), Philip Huber (1977) and John Weigelt (1979) organized a reunion of the Parkland surgical alumni that was held on June 4 and 5, 1982.

The purpose of this reunion meeting was to consider establishing a ‘Parkland Surgical Alumni Society’ to meet on a regular basis. At this organizational meeting, a set of bylaws and slate of officers were prepared for approval by the membership. Thus was born the Parkland Surgical Society.